You Don’t Have To Call Me Darlin, Darlin

July 15, 2009 at 9:16 am 1 comment

I was reading something on one of the forums in an online autism community recently, I don’t even remember which one now, and there was a really great discussion going on. With opinions being shared and respected, other points-of-view actually being considered, people disagreeing in a respectful way and offering rational, well thought-out arguments for their differing opinions. It was indeed a rare and beautiful thing to behold!

And then someone took offense to the term “autistic” being applied to people with autism and it was all downhill from there. It wasn’t the first time that I’ve heard that argument, said argument being that it should be person first, disability second. So the correct way of saying it would be a person with autism, not an autistic person. That autism shouldn’t define a person and that there is more to a person than just autism.

I can see the point there. And I agree that it has some validity…to a point. After all, if a person has cancer, we don’t refer to them as canceristic. (I keep wanting to type canceriffic there, which would give a completely different vibe, no?) But I think that for people like Jake who are profoundly affected by autism, it’s quite reasonable to refer to them as autistic. Autism affects every part of Jake’s life. I’ve been thinking about this for nearly a week now and I honestly cannot come up with a single aspect of his life that is not touched by autism. So I use “autistic” to describe Jake not as a disability, but as more of a personality trait. He’s autisteriffic!

Entry filed under: Jake. Tags: , , , , , .

Son, you got a panty on your head.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. yujie  |  July 16, 2009 at 11:58 pm

    I totally agree with you, I have enough worries to carry around, I would generally say my son has autism, but I have a “autistic son” is the least worry that I will ever have. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Judy Diane Acciarito's Facebook Profile

Posts

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Subscribe – receive email updates when I post (at least I think that’s how it’s going to work!)


