Misc.

June 8, 2009 at 11:12 pm 2 comments

Today is the first full day of Jon’s summer vacation. He has two weeks of downtime before his first camp (Summer Strings at VCU). By 8:30 he had already asked me what we’re doing “exciting” today. I showed him the list of phone calls I need to make and the pile of laundry I need to do. He didn’t think either of those were sufficiently exciting. When I offered to share the thrill-a-minute task of emptying the dishwasher, he muttered something about cleaning his room and went off to find his own excitement. Give me strength.

Jonathan and I saw my surrogate daughter Kaitlyn in CYT’s production of Willy Wonka last night. This was the first CYT show we’d seen and oh my gosh were we impressed! Talk about professional! This was Kaitlyn’s first CYT show and while I may be slightly biased, the child is really very talented. Lots of kids can sing and dance, but Kaitlyn can also act and emote* and become a character in a way that you don’t see in many kids. Mark my words, she’s gonna be a star!

There were 95 kids in the show I think they said, from newly graduated high-schoolers all the way down to some Oompa Loompas that appeared to be barely past kindergarten. This was not your typical school play type production though, these kids knew what they were doing. The acting was incredible and the choreographed numbers all went off without a hitch, which really impressed me with that many kids on one stage. I highly recommend seeing it, especially if you have kids of your own. The Oates Theater at Collegiate is quite large and it was a full house last night, fully half of the audience was kids and they all seemed to love it as much as we did!

Thank you to everyone that responded to my post about legal planning for special needs kids. I received some good advice and recommendations to other resources so I’ll be giving this more thought and hopefully figuring out a workable plan for our family in the near future.

Jake. Jake, Jake, Jake… Sorry for the abbreviated post yesterday. I became a bit verklempt and had to stop. I’ll write more on that in the next day or so.

And finally, this made me laugh this morning.

* I first typed that as “smote”…Kaitlyn, I know a few people that could use a good smoting!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Hold On To Yourself We are here!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Hansi Brittain  |  June 9, 2009 at 8:10 am

    I have seen two CYT productions and had to keep reminding myself that they were not professional productions because they sure seemed to be, they were so well done. Yes, I thnk Kaitlyn has a future in the performing arts.

    Reply
  • 2. Mom  |  June 10, 2009 at 7:21 am

    Tell Jon my house needs dusting, closets need cleaning, weeds ned pulling etc etc etc

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Judy Diane Acciarito's Facebook Profile

Posts

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Subscribe – receive email updates when I post (at least I think that’s how it’s going to work!)


